week 3: Everyone Struggles

I know this is pretty late for this week's blog but you know it's always better to be late than never. It's not that I hadn't tried to complete this on time but just couldn't end it in a better way. I mean this is the third time I am trying to write this blog I hope it gets completed at least this time and I do not happen to press selectAll+backspace. Nevertheless, if that happens you'll get to know.

This time we have to write about the struggles we face since we started this outreach internship. I mean if I tell about my struggles then this whole Outreachy program has always been full of struggles for me from the day when the contribution period started till date but one thing that kept me going throughout this whole journey is my determination and support of the mentors that always pushed me along. But if I have to tell about one then I'll name these bi-weekly blogs. Yes, this is it I struggled a lot only to write this 5 min read a blog, I mean this is the third time. It's been 4 weeks and I have written only one blog that one too I completed in almost 12 days. I don't know whether this blog is going to add any value to anyone but it was our task to write a blog so I had to complete it and write whatever I feel. I assume that's what a blog is about, you express yourself in a blog whether it be a concept or a life event you just have to express it in your own words. It's not I cannot write properly or do not know enough jargon to make a blogpost but its always those thoughts that cross my mind, is it really good enough to be published or is the content will be any useful or are the phrases well structured blah..blah..blah, you know overthinker I happen to be one of them. That's the reason I have been procrastinating for many days. But some part of me keeps telling me that I should write it anyway, and try it one more time, no matter if it's the third time 😅.

We always know what is right or wrong for ourselves but we often tend to choose the easier one and believe me 95 percent of the time it happens to be the wrong one. It's only a matter of choice how much pain we can sustain to achieve our goal in life. As one of my favorite quotes says “The struggle that you’re in today is developing the strength you need for tomorrow. Don’t give up" by Robert Tew.

I had to write about a vocabulary term I didn't know before I applied to Outreachy. When I applied to the Outreachy first I didn't know how to make a PR(Pull Request) to a repository, what is the fork and how this whole contribution thing works I mean these are the key concepts without which you cannot make any contribution, four months back I didn't even know any of it and right now I interning with an open-source organization (Unstructured Studio) and submitting a PR every then and now. You see with determination and hard work we can overcome any type of obstacle. We just have to look in the right direction for help. That's how I have been able to learn all these things in such a short span of time. The resources which I referred to learn these key concepts were How to make a successful PR? by- Somya-Singhal which I followed for the first time to create a pull request and Github original docs for a better understanding. I hope this will help you to submit your first PR if you are also getting started with your open-source journey.

So, this is it for my second blog and I'll be back with another topic next week. 😉