Week 1:  Introduce Yourself

Week 1: Introduce Yourself

Outreachy Blog: first week as an Outreachy intern

A brief Introduction

Hello everyone!

I am Deepanshu from India. This is my final year of graduation in Computer Science and Engineering. I love listening to music and watching movie series in my free time. I'll be working with the unstructured studio on the "user profile enhancement" project from May to August 2022.

Core Values

My core values are curiosity, determination, and learning.

I belong to the category of persons who wants to know the "why" of everything. I love to explore and learn new things always. Be it about different cultures, people, food, or technology. This value is what has driven me to become a software developer.

I consider determination plays a key role to achieve something in life. Without it, I won't be here where I am today. Since life is all about facing challenges, challenges are always hard to tackle at first so I believe if we are not determined enough to tackle those challenges there wouldn't be any growth possible.

Learning is something which I always seek, at first when I applied to Outreachy I wasn't sure whether I am gonna get this or not but one thing was I very much sure about was that I'll definitely be going to learn something new during the whole process. And that's how I ended up being an Outreachy intern.

What motivated me to apply for Outreachy

I always wanted to contribute to the open-source software and the idea of providing free access to world-class features to people is something that fascinated me always. So after my friend told me about the Outreachy 3-month paid internship program it seemed a perfect opportunity for me to try my hands-on. Afterward, it took me one week to fill out the initial application. When the contribution period started(which is the next round of the intern selection process) it was really hard for me to choose any organization because I wasn't sure whether I would be able to make any significant contribution to the organization. Things that kept me going during the contribution period were my core values(curiosity, determination, and learning) and the community which helped me every time whenever I asked for any help, that's when I came to experience the beauty of an open-source community where you always work as a team.

I believe this internship will help me see more positive sides of myself and of the world. Also, it will sharpen my abilities and assist me to teach others in my society! Unstructured studio's project is about assisting others with the most basic thing that can change the world; education! That was why I picked this project, to help others learn! To influence them to change! To motivate them that they can be the change they wish to see!